Shopping Bag
{{displayTitle(item, true)}}
{{item.translated_name}}
{{getVariationType(item.variation_type)}}: {{item.variation_name}}
{{getHairColorVariation(item.dye_type)}}
- {{item.qty}} + remove
{{showPrice($index)}}
{{showFullPrice($index)}}
{{removedItemText(displayTitle(item, true))}} undo
Your Shopping Bag is Empty.
Let's Fix That!

Order today for free shipping over $40 DetailsOpens a dialog

Custom Color Set

Custom Color Set

  • 4.2 out of 5 (53,148 ratings)

32,656 Client Reviews

Sort by:

POSTED BY: Nina
May 1, 2019

Loved it!

POSTED BY: Nina
May 1, 2019

I have really thick, long hair which tends to absorb hair dye, so I was really sceptical that there would be enough dye for me. I was very pleasantly surprised! There was lots of product, with a little left over! Really loved the packaging and the easy instructions, with all the items I needed to do my colour. I also really loved having a personal colourist email me to ask follow up questions about my colour. Highly recommend!!

Translate

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

POSTED BY: Robin S.
April 26, 2019

Love eSalon products!

POSTED BY: Robin S.
April 26, 2019

I’ve been using eSalon hair color & conditioning products for quite a few months now, and I am always pleased with the results I get. Since I live in Hawaii, my hair takes a beating from the sun & humidity, and has a tendency to bleach out quicker. So I’ve had to change my color formula recently, which was quite easy! A quick phone call and conversation with a colorist and a new formula is made up. I just tried it, and I am shocked at how good it came out. They had warned me not to be concerned by the name, just to trust that it would take care of the brassiness, give it some depth, but without changing the basic color too much. It’s absolutely perfect! The best part is that it costs me a fraction of what a salon job here on the island would charge! Thank You, eSalon... you’re the best!

Translate

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

POSTED BY: Julia F.
April 12, 2019

Convenient and great color

POSTED BY: Julia F.
April 12, 2019

I was more than pleased with my custom color set! When it arrived, I immediately opened the box and was impressed with how much was included. The instructions and products were easy to use and my color is beautiful! As a natural redhead who is now heavily gray, it is difficult to get just the right balance with out too much orange or too much purple. My color is now very close to my natural color. I'm excited to get my next color set. I love that I can make changes to my color before each subsequent box.

Translate

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

POSTED BY: Laurie G.
April 11, 2019

My Color Set

POSTED BY: Laurie G.
April 11, 2019

I have been coloring my hair for years. Started out having it done at a salon (way too expensive and not happy with it), then started using store-bought box hair color and used those for years (jumping around from color to color, never knowing what the right hair color for me was). But since I've been coloring my hair with my Custom Color Set from eSalon, I have NEVER gotten so many compliments on the color of my hair. I sound like a commercial, but it is the absolute truth. In dim lighting or bright lighting, people have complimented on the color. I would assume, not only is it a great color, but it's a great color for me and my skin tone and eye color, etc. It's Light Brown (Golden Pearl). It's so natural looking. I did use the lightening kit to highlight my hair and, at the time, was a little disappointed that the highlight wasn't brighter. I'm used to putting in these brighter blonde highlights for the summer. But in the end, to my surprise, the color of the highlight ended up being perfect. It gave me just enough brightness without it looking fake. I am so very very very pleased with eSalon! I really am. And I LOVE how I can change the delivery date (so easily). My hair does not grow that fast so it is really nice to be able to skip a delivery or push the delivery date out further. Thank you so much for what you do and how you do it. Love Love Love.

Translate

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

POSTED BY: Marlene R.
April 23, 2019

Love this color!

POSTED BY: Marlene R.
April 23, 2019

I never would have thought of going to a dark blonde since my natural color is light to medium brown. I always had to leave my color (over the counter) on too long to cover the gray & it always came out too dark for me. I love the dark blonde color they set me up with. My hair is soft & I love it! I am getting the color 1 shipment at a time, since I don't care for auto shipping on anything. But I may have to change it to auto ship!!

Translate

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

POSTED BY: Lianne G.
June 19, 2019

Good liked the concept but... I want no ammonia

POSTED BY: Lianne G.
June 19, 2019

I think the product ticked a lot boxes for me. As, I wanted to hair dye process that was better than store bought box hair dye. I felt it was a better process and liked idea being able to pre order my hair dye so many weeks in advance because previously i've found it hard to find the colour i wanted from the store (strawberry blonde/light copper) and i would suddenly need it. Colour was good BUT>>> i don't think the personalization is necessary. I rather for my extra money im spending have a more natural hair dye experience containing no Ammonia and have an extremely low hydrogen peroxide content if possible. Because i suspect i will be dying my hair a lifetime. So, i've decided its not worth the extra money spent as it doesn't the tick boxes for natural ingredients. Currently I feel, the product is hair dye with a lot pretty packaging with my name on it and it's very pretty.

Translate

3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

POSTED BY: Kaelin K.

Response From Our Experts

Lianne - Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the disappointing experience you had with our Custom Color. We're always looking to improve our service and products, and truly value everything our clients say. We hope to continue helping you find hair perfection!

POSTED BY: Abigail R.
May 10, 2019

Great color!

POSTED BY: Abigail R.
May 10, 2019

I recently made the switch from salon color to esalon and I honestly feel so good about it. I'm saving a TON of money and my color looks better because I'm not waiting until my roots are 2" and the color is faded. Boom, my color is in my mailbox before I need it. Not only is it easy but my colorist makes adjustments based on my requests. I couldn't be happier.

Translate

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

POSTED BY: Vivian A.
May 7, 2019

Gray removed!

POSTED BY: Vivian A.
May 7, 2019

I normally purchase OTC products. This product removed my gray for much longer. I also enjoyed the color which was slightly darker (my choice). So far.....several weeks in and no gray reappearing in the colored areas. New gray, of course. But the spot color helps a bit. So far, and only a few weeks in, I love this product. I will say that this product is harsher on my hair than the OTC products, but the results are good. The "leave in" hair conditioner is great and, in my opinion, a must. You must condition your hair more than usual. But if you have gray hair that just won't accept color, this product works extremely well. :-)

Translate

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

POSTED BY: Ashley S.
May 5, 2019

AMAZING!! BUY IT!

POSTED BY: Ashley S.
May 5, 2019

Ok, so I waited about a week after dying my hair to write a review. I wanted to see how the color held up after a couple washes. I AM OBSESSED RIGHT NOW. I have always bought boxed dye and hoped for the best. My hair would be dry and my color would fade quickly. It was awful. I quit dying my hair about two years ago, and was skeptical about doing it again. I came across eSalon and decided to give it a try. I was not disappointed! The entire kit was fantastic. The hair dye didn’t burn or make my scalp itch, the stain guard smelled wonderful and worked perfectly. It was the first time I’ve dyed my hair and didn’t also dye my forehead and cheeks haha. The dye washed out easily... I have long, thick hair and usually I spend about forty-five minutes just getting the dye out. This took about 20, if that. The shampoo!! HONEY. The most luxurious shampoo I have ever used outside of a salon. I felt like I was in a commercial or something. The conditioner was amazing, too. My hair is pretty damaged from my thyroid issues when they got out of whack, and my hair feels and looks healthy. I will never buy boxed dye again. Only issue: I used Demi-permanent, and it dyed a few spots in my white tub. They’re already fading away, but definitely still visible. I would spray down the entire shower with water first so that it’s all soaked and the dye has less of a chance to stick. However, it’s totally worth it still. No regrets.

Translate

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

POSTED BY: Meredith O.
July 20, 2019

Perfect

POSTED BY: Meredith O.
July 20, 2019

The color looked like it was performed in a salon. I have been very impressed with the quality. After making changes to the original color, my colorist resounded by changing it to make it closer to my natural hair color. Having naturally dark hair, I worried it would look too one dimensional or too black. I was happy to see that it looks multi-dimensional and natural, as it would if I had it dyed in a salon. I did elect to later order hi lights and the color was perfect but my technique isn’t. The instructions for hi light weren’t as clear & easy to follow for hi lighting as they were for dying hair. I would like them to provide greater detail on hi lighting hair. For instance, give a couple of closeups when dividing the hair into separate sections. The picture isn’t clear. I can’t exactly see what part of the hair is left down in the back and where the middle section starts and ends. Also, knowing how much color to keep on the brush and instead of showing a drawing, I would appreciate seeing a real picture of the brush with color on it as it is supposed to look when applying it to the hair. I watched the video provided on the website and it didn’t really help or answer all my questions. I usually do my hair in the evening so it would have been too late to call for questions. Other than this, my experience has been great! I would recommend it to anyone interested who has the patience to do their own work. For instance, I wouldn’t ever recommend this to my mom because she would probably not have patience to read all the way through the instructions and take her time doing it, especially the first time, which means she would likely do a terrible job of it. The color and technique is very forgiving for amateur hands like myself and as long as I follow the dying instructions as best as I can, I have had great results.

Translate

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?