Shopping Bag
{{displayTitle(item, true)}}
{{item.translated_name}}
{{getVariationType(item.variation_type)}}: {{item.variation_name}}
{{getHairColorVariation(item.dye_type)}}
- {{item.qty}} + remove
{{showPrice($index)}}
{{showFullPrice($index)}}
{{removedItemText(displayTitle(item, true))}} undo
Your Shopping Bag is Empty.
Let's Fix That!

Order today for free shipping over $40 DetailsOpens a dialog

Custom Color Set

Custom Color Set

  • 4.2 out of 5 (52,449 ratings)

32,226 Client Reviews

Sort by:

POSTED BY: Danielle F.
March 27, 2019

Medium Ash Brown

POSTED BY: Danielle F.
March 27, 2019

It turned out a lot darker than I was expecting, and it left behind a brassy tone, which I kind of expected due to my hair having red tones in it before, but the neutralizer didnt really neutralize it all so theres still quiet a bit of gold/brass showing through. Overall not bad, but also not great. I feel like i could have gotten similar results from a drugstore box hair dye.

Translate

69 of 74 people found this review helpful. Did you?

POSTED BY: Desiree R.

Response From Our Experts

Danielle - We apologize that your hair color wasn’t what you expected. Your order is fully backed by our Color Happiness Guarantee, and we would love to work with you to adjust your formula for your next order. Our Color Experts have been in contact via email and will be happy to assist in this process.

POSTED BY: Kimberly O.
April 12, 2019

Fantastic...and CRUELTY-FREE!!!

POSTED BY: Kimberly O.
April 12, 2019

I found eSalon while searching for at-home color that was both cruelty-free and had great reviews. I tried it and absolutely love it! Fine-tuned custom color, the option to change it up when I want, delivery, cute package- all at the same price as mediocre box color in a few shades from the store. The site is fun and ordering is so simple. Applying the first-time kit takes a little bit of time but it's so important to follow the steps to get the best color (and it's really not that much longer than any other color) . The results are just awesome, and I'm one who makes a product blow me away before I leave glowing reviews like this. This one did! This is by far my favorite color I have ever had, and I have been coloring my own hair for over 25 years (I'm 43 with some grey and have played with color since I was a teenager). My hair is super thick and down to my waistline, and somewhat coarse, but this color handled beautifully. It was soft and glossy, perfectly covered my greys but looked completely natural- evenly blended and complimented by skin tone so well. I have never gotten results this great. What I wasn't expecting was how naturally and gradually it faded- I almost couldn't tell where it left off and my new growth began; it seemed to sort of blend away (no line where you could see the old color stopping and new grey coming in like every other brand I've used, if that makes sense). It's hard to explain but it looked so natural, like it blended my new growth in with my color somehow. Even my husband noticed it- he said it's harder to tell when I need to color again with this brand. I could not be happier with my color. I definitely feel like they should brag about being cruelty-free though- make it obvious on the site next to the other reasons to love this company! This is MAJOR criteria for a lot more people besides me! I am happy to support ethical brands like this, especially when they work this well! (Nope-I did not get $ to say all this!) xxx

Translate

25 of 27 people found this review helpful. Did you?

POSTED BY: Carissa W.
February 28, 2019

Perfect grey coverage, but....

POSTED BY: Carissa W.
February 28, 2019

I ordered my first custom hair color kit in the beginning of February and finally just colored my hair 2 days ago. My stubborn greys are completely gone but it seems that my grey roots picked up more of the mahogany tone from my Dark Chocolate Brown than my ends did. It's apparently "not too noticeable" to other people but I notice it. Especially if I put my hair up in a messy bun or something. The ends don't match the roots 100%. I will say, though, that happens to me every single time I color my hair myself. The other problem that I had was with the harsh chemical odor of the 2nd bottle of color I used- the one that was for my ends. I had no problem with the odor from the first bottle, it barely had a smell at all. As soon as I poured the color liquid from the 2nd bottle into it's respective bottle of developer, the fumes immediately wafted out and started burning my eyes and also making it very hard for me to breathe (I have allergen induced asthma). I had the door open and the window open with the vent turned on in the bathroom. I have never, ever smelled a dye so harsh. It was difficult for me to leave it in for the full 5 minutes. And when it came time for me to add water to that bottle, pour over my whole head, and then massage it in, it was difficult for me to continue massaging my hair for the 2-3 minutes called for. After I rinsed my hair and then shampooed and conditioned it the odor was completely gone. And unlike other at home dyes I have used, I did not find any chemical scent lingering in my hair. It just smelled like shampoo! That was a welcome surprise. I am also very impressed with how incredibly shiny my hair came out. It has a very glossy look to it. The texture of my hair feels fantastic also. Nice and soft and silky. So my only real problem was the odor of the 2nd bottle of color. I think as far as my roots being a slightly different shade than my ends, I think that's just something that is always going to happen to me.

Translate

25 of 28 people found this review helpful. Did you?

POSTED BY: Carrie R.
March 2, 2019

Perfect colour, needs serious washing out

POSTED BY: Carrie R.
March 2, 2019

First time using esalon. Very impressed with the kit contents and ease of application, although mixture slightly more runny than I’m used to, resulting in blobs around the bathroom! Final colour is exactly as I wanted. My one criticism is the level of washing it then requires to get a rather odd greasy slick out of your hair. I shampoo’d three times with shampoo sent and then my regular and I still have a strange coating on parts of my hair. That said I would use again for the fact the colour is spot on and the hair that has washed clean feels in great condition. Would just give it several more goes with shampoo before getting out the shower next time!

Translate

37 of 44 people found this review helpful. Did you?

POSTED BY: Kaitlyn E.
May 14, 2019

Awesome Customer Service

POSTED BY: Kaitlyn E.
May 14, 2019

Without a doubt THE BEST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVERRRR. I have a University degree in business with a major in Marketing and I hardly write reviews unless I know that the company deserves it. Boy, do they ever deserve it! My first round of hair colour was nice, I liked it but it didn't stick to my roots. I told this to esalon and they sent me an entirely FREE (WITH FREE SHIPPING!) new kit to try. It worked SO amazing. I'm so incredibly happy and I will recommend this product to any of my friends. 10/10!

Translate

6 of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

POSTED BY: Anabella T.
June 11, 2019

YES!!

POSTED BY: Anabella T.
June 11, 2019

I wanted to save money getting my roots touched up at the salon. I tried using a couple of boxed root touch up kits, but they did not work. I came across eSalon. They had better reviews than a competitor. I did my roots this morning and no more grays! The kit came with everything you need. My colorist, Alyson is awesome! She checked in with me after I sent in my order. I am a happy and satisfied customer. I will definitely keep my subscription.

Translate

4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

POSTED BY: Georgia R.
May 10, 2019

LOVE

POSTED BY: Georgia R.
May 10, 2019

I just love my regular delivery of the Customer Color Set. I find the color is perfect for me and I really feel like I am achieving salon quality color from home. So much better than store bought options and only a fraction of the cost of salon servicing. I also love the quality of of the amenities such as gloves, stain guard etc. eSalon service is also fantastic and very efficient. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

Translate

3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

POSTED BY: Melissa B.
April 16, 2019

Fumes too strong, but great results.

POSTED BY: Melissa B.
April 16, 2019

The ammonia fumes are scary. I inhaled too much while rinsing in the sink (I can't use the shower). Also, this is a messy activity if you aren't good at doing your own hair - separating into 4 quarters, pinning, applying solution, unpinning, reapplying, repinning.... just too much pinning and unpinning while working with the wet hair color. My final pinning must have looked rediculous because I could barely get the hair stay up in the pins. However, after all was done, it did look great. Note I did not have a sticky, gunky film of residue like others mentioned. I did have hair dye spots still on my scalp that I had to scratch off, and hair dye got on my arms and face. I used a makeup removing cloth to clean it off my arms and face. Also, and very important, my instructions recommended I use leftover solution in my final rise, which nearly killed me with fumes in the sink. Don't do this. For the short time frame this leftover dye is in contact with your hair there wouldn't be a benefit, and not worth the horrid blast of fumes. Just rinse it out with water and then wash your hair. Because of the fumes, I'm debating on whether or not to do this again. I have to hold my breath while rinsing. :(

Translate

6 of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

POSTED BY: .

Response From Our Experts

Melissa- Thank you for reaching out to us here at eSalon. We are so sorry to hear that you were disappointed in the scent of our color, but we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your color results! Please keep your eyes out for an email from us shortly. We will be reaching out to you with further tips and information.

POSTED BY: Nicola H.
May 8, 2019

Perfect colour and excellent staying power

POSTED BY: Nicola H.
May 8, 2019

I’m so so happy with the colours I have had. My first I chose a dark brown however once I’d done the colour I realised I didn’t want it quite so dark. I emailed the colourist and asked for a more golden brown colour and they adjusted my colour immediately and shipped this with my next order with updated instructions on what to do and not do to achieve the colour I wanted. It’s now exactly as I wanted it and I couldn’t be happier.

Translate

4 of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

POSTED BY: Ann M.
June 10, 2019

eSalon is absolutely wonderful!

POSTED BY: Ann M.
June 10, 2019

I was paying $150 to get my hair cut and colored! Yikes! way too much and never was completely happy. eSalon has made the color of my dreams (younger days) and my husband has become my colorist! He is a great sport and I love the color of my hair now. Can't say enough good things about eSalon and how they have made me feel. Saving money and loving the product.

Translate

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?