Shopping Bag
{{displayTitle(item, true)}}
{{item.translated_name}}
{{getVariationType(item.variation_type)}}: {{item.variation_name}}
{{getHairColorVariation(item.dye_type)}}
- {{item.qty}} + remove
{{showPrice($index)}}
{{showFullPrice($index)}}
{{removedItemText(displayTitle(item, true))}} undo
Your Shopping Bag is Empty.
Let's Fix That!

Get your custom blend for just $10!

Toning Mask

Toning Mask

  • 3.7 out of 5 (94 ratings)

59 Client Reviews

Sort by:

POSTED BY: Miss Six
May 27, 2019

Red, Brassy Tones…OUT, Shiny, Cool Brown IN!

Reviewed Color: Blonde Neutralizer

POSTED BY: Miss Six
May 27, 2019

If I could only share my pictures with you this would help so much! Let me summarize; I have lots of thin curly brown hair. Over dying and sun exposure, caused my once naturally ash brown hair to become saturated in red and brassy tones. I went to Sally’s Beauty Supply and bought Wella’s Hair lotion and Color-Charm’s Demi-Color Toner. I didn’t use the $15 of product, because I decided to give the $5 Toning Mask by Esalon first. After all, it was a much easier & affordable process. After saturating my hair, I ended up leaving it ok for over a half hour. Oops?! Nope! After rinsing the mask out and defusing my hair, I couldn’t believe the results! I took a picture of my hair the day before I used the mask and a picture afterwards! This toning mask has easily removed 1/2 of the redness and the brass was completely gone! Needless to say I didn’t have to use Wella’s Hair Lotion & Demi-Color Charm! THANK YOU E-Salon!! This toning Mask didn’t only remove the red/brassy tones but it left it shinier than ever before! I’ve used this toner one more time since and it’s perfect now! Just re-ordered my second bottle! I’d give this product 10 stars if I could!

33 of 34 people found this review helpful. Did you?

POSTED BY: Pearl A.
July 24, 2019

Didn't do what it was supposed to, but amazing hair mask!

Reviewed Color: Blonde Neutralizer

POSTED BY: Pearl A.
July 24, 2019

I bought this hoping it would reduce the very brassy yellow my lightened hair is showing now that the light brown toner from the salon has washed out. I thought that the extreme dark blue and leaving it on for 20 minutes seemed really promising, but there is no visible color change. However, my straight, fine hair is frizzy beyond belief from the Hawaii humidity and this mask worked WONDERS as a conditioning mask. Left my hair hydrated, smooth, flat, and not a hint greasy for 4 days before I washed it again.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

POSTED BY: Sarah S.

Response From Our Experts

Pearl - We're truly sorry that our Toning Mask did not provide the toning results you expected. Since you were unhappy with your experience, we've added a store credit to your account with us, per our Satisfaction Guarantee. We value every client, and look forward to providing you with a product that will better suit your needs.

POSTED BY: Haley C.
May 10, 2019

Worth It!

Reviewed Color: Red Neutralizer

POSTED BY: Haley C.
May 10, 2019

I was a little Hesitant at first ordering this because of a couple reviews I've read. I'm glad I gave it the benefit of the doubt And tried it! I love the toner mask, So far so good! I had a color adjustment from Violet/reddish brown back to my natural dark brown,So I wanted something to help with the red tones, Not only did it help with the red but My hair was Sooo Much Softer! I did shampoo and condition first though, cause I noticed in some reviews ppl didn't condition & used this instead (like instructed) and didn't get the soft hydrated results. But all in all for the price you Can't go wrong! The bottle is smaller But I have long hair down to my chest and I used little over a quarter sized amount and that was enough with still Alot in the bottle! This is Another Win for Esalon in My Book (:

14 of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

POSTED BY: Sarah S.
January 23, 2019

Wonderful product!

Reviewed Color: Blonde Neutralizer

POSTED BY: Sarah S.
January 23, 2019

This toning mask brought life and vibrancy back into my hair! Will definitely purchase again!!

23 of 26 people found this review helpful. Did you?

POSTED BY: Deborah C.
January 16, 2019

Maybe it works

Reviewed Color: Red Neutralizer

POSTED BY: Deborah C.
January 16, 2019

This product was sent to me for free in response to a question I sent to the colorist, and I was very appreciative. Other than the smell, which is not my favorite, my main issue is that there are no clear directions for how or when to use it. It says to apply and leave on hair for 10-15 minutes, then rinse. When? How often? Right after coloring, or any time? For a week? A month? Indefinitely? Does this replace conditioner in some cases? I will give it a try after I color my hair next time, and I will likely need to send a question in to eSalon to get better details about use. I hope with answers it will help.

55 of 65 people found this review helpful. Did you?

POSTED BY: .

Response From Our Experts

Deborah- Thank you for contacting us! The toning masks are intended to be used as-needed (when you have red tones to neutralize, you can use the mask). Please keep your eye on an email from us with further information for you. We are always available at [email protected] for any product recommendations and tips. Thank you again for reaching out!

POSTED BY: Kathlyn M.
January 16, 2019

Great product

Reviewed Color: Blonde Neutralizer

POSTED BY: Kathlyn M.
January 16, 2019

It makes your hair soft & mangable

15 of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

POSTED BY: Anna D.
March 17, 2019

VERY delicate result.

Reviewed Color: Red Neutralizer

POSTED BY: Anna D.
March 17, 2019

My natural color is dark blond, i was bleach blonde for several years and over 3 months gradually dyed my hair to dark brown. It had now been about 5 times i'm dying roots+all over dark COOL brown and my hair gets unwanted red tones within two weeks of the hair job. I've been trying everything to pare myself constant re-dying, from blue shampoos (which often made the red tones even deeper) to different hair dyes (even if cool at the beginning the red tones show up sooner or later in my hair) I bought this toning mask and i have to say, VERY DELICATE RESULT. Definitely not enough to make me feel I got rid of the red undertones. I used "DP hue Cool Dark Brown" gloss conditioner before and have to say so far its the only really successful product out there. If you're looking to spare yourself constant spendings on products that don't work just get this gloss and hold for the full 20 minutes, and learn when your hair needs another dose. I thought esalon's toning mask and tint rinse would work similar, but the results are incomparably less noticable.

13 of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

POSTED BY: .

Response From Our Experts

Anna- Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you feel our toning mask has not provided the toning results expected. This product helps to gradually reduce red tones, and for some it can take several uses. For a stronger effect for you, we recommend towel-drying the hair prior to application to help the product absorb better. We're always looking to improve our service and products and truly value everything our clients say. Thanks for reaching out!

POSTED BY: jude D.
February 22, 2019

Love it!!!!!

Reviewed Color: Red Neutralizer

POSTED BY: jude D.
February 22, 2019

Really makes your hair soft enhances color⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

POSTED BY: Cristina B.
January 16, 2019

Love it!!

Reviewed Color: Red Neutralizer

POSTED BY: Cristina B.
January 16, 2019

Use it regularly

4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

POSTED BY: Jeanne Y.
January 16, 2019

Just Not for Me

Reviewed Color: Warm Beige

POSTED BY: Jeanne Y.
January 16, 2019

I saw no shine. My hair was difficult to manage. Every head of hair is different, so this is just not for me, but it may be for you. Give it a try.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

POSTED BY: Sarah S.

Response From Our Experts

Jeanne - We're truly sorry that our Toning Mask did not provide the results you expected. We have reached out to you via email to see what we can do about remedying this situation, per our Satisfaction Guarantee. We value every client, and look forward to providing you with a product that will better suit your needs. Keep an eye on your inbox for more details.