Shopping Bag
{{displayTitle(item, true)}}
{{item.translated_name}}
{{getVariationType(item.variation_type)}}: {{item.variation_name}}
{{getHairColorVariation(item.dye_type)}}
- {{item.qty}} + remove
{{showPrice($index)}}
{{showFullPrice($index)}}
{{removedItemText(displayTitle(item, true))}} undo
Your Shopping Bag is Empty.
Let's Fix That!

Get your custom blend for just $10!

Temporary Root Touch-Up

Temporary Root Touch-Up

  • 3.5 out of 5 (2,228 ratings)

1,099 Client Reviews

Sort by:

POSTED BY: Lisa T.
July 4, 2019

Not the right color

Reviewed Color: Medium Brown #BR40

POSTED BY: Lisa T.
July 4, 2019

I ordered this a while back expecting to need it but didn’t. Now my gray is starting to come in much quicker between dye jobs and so tried it today. I didn’t realize I received medium brown BR40, although my profile says I should be darkest brunette/black. So now I have strands of light brown (that’s how it looks even though it’s supposed to be medium brown) amidst black hair, but at least the gray is covered, and it’s a good thing that I changed my hair dye formula to add some red. It looks fine but I’m someone who doesn’t worry too much about showing some gray since you’d expect that of someone in their mid-50s, or if people know I color my hair, but I doubt others would want this. I think I should have received the darker color that my profile says I should be. Having said that, it does feel a bit chalky or like dirty, greasy hair. However, I didn’t apply it right after I shampooed, but the day after, which may play a factor. Again for me it’s OK since it’s only a temporary fix for an evening out and luckily it does not LOOK dirty or greasy. People will be looking at and hopefully not touching my hair! One good thing is you don’t seem to use too much dye to cover, but again that’s for my hair which is straight and fine, not too much gray, and I really don’t know how much dye is still left in the tube. People are busy and may not have that time to dye their hair at their scheduled intervals - I certainly don’t. So I can see that this temporary fix can get expensive at the price point set for this product, especially if you need to use more dye and more often than I do. Lastly, instructions should state roughly how long to wait for the dye to be dry to the touch before you can brush it out. I kept touching and getting dye on my fingers and reapplying and waiting some more.

14 of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

POSTED BY: Alicia S.

Response From Our Experts

Lisa - Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the disappointing experience you had with our Color Kiss (Medium Brown #BR40). We're always looking to improve our service and products, and truly value everything our clients say. We hope to continue helping you find hair perfection!

POSTED BY: Tina S.
September 3, 2019

Great blending

Reviewed Color: Lightest Copper

POSTED BY: Tina S.
September 3, 2019

I tried 3 other products prior to this one and I'm happiest with the E-salon product. The spray isn't too robust so it doesn't heavily coat the root area making a distinct line of color change. I have enough time before it dries completely to gently draw some of the color into the non-gray hair giving me some blending capability that other products just don't have.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

POSTED BY: Michele S.
March 11, 2016

Pros and cons

Reviewed Color: Medium Brown #BR40

POSTED BY: Michele S.
March 11, 2016

Love the idea behind this temporary hair color but really dislike the brush applicator. The old design was great but this current design puts too much in one spot and the wider teeth part makes it seem goopy. And then there isn't enough of the narrow tooth part of the applicator. Would love for you to go back to the old design which was more of a mascara brush type of applicator! Also the lid on the brush side slides off while applying the color.

403 of 410 people found this review helpful. Did you?

POSTED BY: Kelli B.

Response From Our Experts

Michele- Thank you for sharing your thoughts about the the Color Kiss Temporary Root Touch-Up. We're always looking to improve our service and products, and truly value everything our clients say. We will take your comments into consideration. You will also be happy to know that we have our redesigned Temporary Root Concealer that is in the form of a dry mist.

POSTED BY: Bringme Beth W.
March 12, 2016

Love the Root Touch-up

Reviewed Color: Dark Blonde

POSTED BY: Bringme Beth W.
March 12, 2016

This is such a great product to help with root touch ups when you're not quite ready to do a full treatment. So quick and easy to use on those few strands here and there. For me my roots come back the quickest by my ears and temples so this is great for those areas.

354 of 362 people found this review helpful. Did you?

POSTED BY: Nancy F.
March 11, 2016

Temporary Root Touch Up

Reviewed Color: Blonde #BL40

POSTED BY: Nancy F.
March 11, 2016

Color could not be matched to mine-I understood that when I ordered it. It was 'close enough' but the drawback was how it made my hair feel. Around my face, my hair felt sticky, dirty--not worth the touch up aspect.

130 of 133 people found this review helpful. Did you?

POSTED BY: Kelli B.

Response From Our Experts

Nancy- Thank you for sharing your feedback about our Color Kiss Temporary Root Touch-Up. We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed by your experience with our Color Kiss. Because you were unhappy with the results, we have gone ahead and added a credit to your account in the amount of your purchase, per our Satisfaction Guarantee. One of our representatives will reach out to you shortly with more information.

POSTED BY: Maripat F.
March 14, 2016

Covers OK, rubs off easily especially if you get wet

Reviewed Color: Blonde #BL40

POSTED BY: Maripat F.
March 14, 2016

So, first it's a good idea to have a mascara wand to apply, but the stuff doesn't stick to your hair so you need to recoat and recoat to get coverage. Once it dries, it looks fine unless you happen to get wet (think rain or humid day or sweat) then it kind of runs off. Still, a good way to extend the time between colorings if you have a bit of grow out. Mine is near my temples where I get white areas and this covers and looks great unless I sweat.

229 of 238 people found this review helpful. Did you?

POSTED BY: kari M.
September 26, 2018

Works well for in between coloring days.

Reviewed Color: Light Brown #BR30

POSTED BY: kari M.
September 26, 2018

This product is a life saver for me. About 25% of my hair is white however I have a large patch of white near each temple around my face. When it grows out just a little bit, the white really shows. I usually use this around my temples for a few weeks so I don’t have to dye it so much. I lightly apply it, let it dry and then use the comb at the end to make it look natural. When done right it looks very natural.

35 of 35 people found this review helpful. Did you?

POSTED BY: Pamela E.
March 12, 2016

Love it!

Reviewed Color: Medium Warm Brown #WM40

POSTED BY: Pamela E.
March 12, 2016

Does exactly what it says. Covers grays subtly. Good product.

120 of 127 people found this review helpful. Did you?

POSTED BY: Kelly M.
March 11, 2016

MATCHES AND BLENDS PERFECTLY

Reviewed Color: Light Copper #CP30

POSTED BY: Kelly M.
March 11, 2016

I've never used a better quality root touch up product. It is easy to apply and it blends beautifully. The only reason for 4 stars instead of 5 is that I find it difficult to wash out. After shampooing, I can still feel the product in my hair. However, it covers my roots/gray. Its not washing out easily is probably a good thing!

29 of 29 people found this review helpful. Did you?

POSTED BY: Betty L.
May 21, 2018

A hot mess

Reviewed Color: Light Brown #BR30

POSTED BY: Betty L.
May 21, 2018

I really liked the 1st version of this product, and I love eSalon products on the whole, but the new version of the touch up made a conplete mess. It was completely runny, and spilled out all over my sink. Removing the applicator sprayed spots onto me as well. I don't know why it was so runny, but be careful about setting the applicator down while it's open. I'm sorry to say this one disappoints.

50 of 52 people found this review helpful. Did you?

POSTED BY: Kaelin K.

Response From Our Experts

Betty - Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the disappointing experience you had with our Color Kiss. We're always looking to improve our service and products, and truly value everything our clients say. We hope to continue helping you find hair perfection!